Recent Posts

​Phases of Natural Eyelash Growth

Posted by Sara on Jan 21, 2021

Learn How Natural Eyelashes Grow

When applying eyelash extensions it is important to understand the bodies natural eyelashes and how they work. This is because you will be attaching single false eyelashes to each and every natural eyelash. The natural eyelashes grow just like any other hair on your body. One of the big differences between the hair on your head and your natural eyelashes is that the natural eyelashes have a life cycle where they are born, grow to maturity then fall out. This life cycle takes between six to eight weeks. Once the natural eyelashes falls out the cycle happens all over again.

The eyelash life cycle is important to know for two reasons. One, you need to know the life eyelash life cycle so that as a professional you know when it is appropriate to apply eyelash extensions to the natural eyelashes. Two, if you know the natural eyelash cycle you will know what to say when your client panic because they have some of their eyelash extensions fall out. By knowing the natural eyelash life cycle you will be able to tell your clients that this is just part of the cycle and is natural.

The natural eyelash life cycle has three phases:

1. Anagen (Growth) Phase

2. Catagen (Transition) Phase

3. Telogen (Resting) PhaseHere is an explanation of each phase in the natural eyelash growth cycle.

1. Anagen (Growth) Phase

The Anagen phase is also called the growth phase. This is the phase when lashes are actively growing, and it lasts between 30 and 45 days. Only about 40 percent of the upper lashes and 15 percent of the lower lashes are in the Anagen phase at any one time. Each lash will grow to a specific length and then stop.

2. Catagen (Transition) Phase

The Catagen phase is also known as the transition phase. During this phase, the lash stops growing and the hair follicle shrinks. If an eyelash falls out or is plucked out during this phase, it won't grow back right away because the follicle needs to complete the Catagen phase before it can move on to the next one. This phase lasts between two and three weeks.

3. Telogen (Resting) Phase

The Telogen (Resting) Phase

This phase can last more than 100 days (is this number right?) before the eyelash falls out and a new one begins to grow. Because each individual lash is in its own phase of the growing cycle, it's normal for a few lashes to fall out most days. It typically takes between four and eight weeks to fully replace an eyelash. 

Eyelash extension fills should be done every 2-4 weeks depending on the growth and shedding cycle

Spring and Fall Shed (Maybe a section on causes for reduced retention)

As the seasons transition, so do our growth cycles. It’s important to take this into consideration when a client has a period of low retention. 

By knowing the natural eyelash life cycle you will be able to educate your clients and help them to understand that it is natural for eyelashes to fall out.  As a professional you will also be able to make better decisions when applying eyelash extensions on your clients natural eyelashes.